Babblers Gaming Community: Minecraft - Tekkit Server? - Babblers Gaming Community

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »

Minecraft - Tekkit Server?

Poll: Tekkit Babblerworld?

Want Phil to open a tekkit server?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 12:13 AM

Minecraft with industrial machines, magic, and all kinds of shit. About a million times the content of the vanilla version of the game. Been playing the single play version all evening and not even started on anything yet. Is anyone up for another go at MC with the tekkit stuff?

Loads of info on it via Google or watch the Yogscast vids.

Nuclear reactors, sorting facilities, robot mining machines (that dance) lasers, jet-packs...... uggings of stuff to piss about on.

This post has been edited by King Phil: 16 September 2012 - 12:14 AM


#2 User is offline   snafu 

  • Sigh. YOU ARE AN E-TOWNIE.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 7,520
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 01:10 AM

Don't do it man.... Tekkit sucks your life away.

Had me and a friend hooking up little computers in game and writing programs in LUA to control a nuclear reactor which powered loads of quarries and shit.. it's utter madness.

:P

#3 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 01:49 AM

Would you play a new world if a few from here are up for it?

I'm exploring and playing atm but single player is pretty ..well, lonely :P

Tho the Ogres make it funny.

#4 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:24 AM

OMG 3:24

#5 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:46 AM

04:45...just finished wiring my basement up to do a task I could do myself in half the time BUT IT WAS JUST SO MUCH FUN! :D

#6 User is offline   TheRobster 

  • Spammer Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 11,384
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 01:08 PM

Buy another PC and I may play. :roo

#7 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:05 PM

Looks pretty cool but very complicated. I thought railroads were tough :unsure:

#8 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 03:54 PM

Yeh it's pretty mind boggling.

#9 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:43 PM

What do you need spec wise to host a server?

#10 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 04:48 PM

Not much. It's more the upload speed

http://canihostaminecraftserver.com/


Actually running the Tekkit server & configuring it is a matter of half an hour.

http://www.technicpack.net/tekkit/

I did think about just running it on my home PC but I can't guarantee it's on and my net speed is pretty crap now (1mb upload).

This post has been edited by King Phil: 16 September 2012 - 04:50 PM


#11 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 05:09 PM

The babblers mumble server, which no one seems to use, is sitting on a 5-10mb upload/100mb download connection :naughty:

#12 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 16 September 2012 - 06:52 PM

Wow nice :)

That'd work for up to 30 ish players so is easy good enough for us :)

Can you set it up?

This post has been edited by King Phil: 16 September 2012 - 09:15 PM


#13 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 17 September 2012 - 09:31 AM

Shouldn't be a problem, won't be for a few days though. Any must have mods?

#14 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 17 September 2012 - 12:10 PM

That's smashing :)

I think it's all all included in the Tekkit server build. Mo Creatures works on the SSP version but there is a way to get it working on SMP if you want to try that? Adds an extra challenge :) I don't know much about making it work tho.

Other than that, I know Tekkit is a Bukkit server at it's heart which makes all Bukkit compatible mods work with it (99% of them are Bukkit compatible) so if you find owt you want to throw in...?

This post has been edited by King Phil: 17 September 2012 - 12:22 PM


#15 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 17 September 2012 - 10:20 PM

Forestry Mod - it was taken out of Tekkit as the creator asked it to be. Not sure if you can put it back in or not but it's a pretty good mod!

http://thetekkit.wik...tegory:Forestry

This post has been edited by King Phil: 17 September 2012 - 10:21 PM


#16 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 19 September 2012 - 04:59 PM

Stopped playing my single player game now will just wait till you open the server :D Will be repeating myself otherwise. :)

#17 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 19 September 2012 - 05:31 PM

Can your single player world be imported?

#18 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 19 September 2012 - 07:31 PM

I haven't done much with it. I think so though. You could even import the old Babblerworld to be honest and just build the new stuff in an unexplored area so the Tekkit resources spawn.

If you want to do that I could see if I can alter the old map file I have to spawn us in a new ish area.

#19 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 19 September 2012 - 08:39 PM

That should be all you need - I think what you'll need to do is run the server once so it spawns a new world, and then close the server down again. It should have then made the three folders - just replace with the ones in the archive and it should be good to go.

*edit*

Give me an hour to upload it again it was corrupted somewhere.

Removed link to map for now - dropbox keeps falling over at 1second remaining...

This post has been edited by King Phil: 19 September 2012 - 09:30 PM


#20 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 19 September 2012 - 10:00 PM

https://www.dropbox....erver_3.1.2.rar

Sorted.

By the way to play use the Tekkit Launcher

http://www.technicpack.net/download/

Lets you have a few installs of Minecraft in one launcher etc

This post has been edited by King Phil: 19 September 2012 - 10:02 PM


Share this topic:


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users