Babblers Gaming Community: Minecraft - Tekkit Server? - Babblers Gaming Community

Jump to content

  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »

Minecraft - Tekkit Server?

Poll: Tekkit Babblerworld?

Want Phil to open a tekkit server?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 22 September 2012 - 10:01 PM

Hey Dev I used Tectonicus to render the old babblerworld map - took some working out it's a command line only program with no instructions :P

Anyway, on that map I uploaded to you I re-located the spawn area to an area near chunks that haven't been created yet so if a person goes North-West or South-West (into the white zones basically) the Tekkit stuff will pop in so we can mine out.

Not sure what happens if we die - I did move all the individual spawns to the new area too but if you die and end up in the Olde Worlde you will to wreck your bed and die (after looking around for old time's sake :P) to get back to the new area :)

Some screenshots for fun :D

Overview of old town we built a year back....(big screenshot but Chrome should resize)

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/64027572/oldtown.png

Overview of entire map - the bit sticking out is a bit where someone did some serious exploring in the old map...


https://dl.dropbox.com/u/64027572/Overviewofbabblerworld.png

Adjusted spawn area - arrows indicate the directions that we need to move into to spawn new chunks to get access to the Tekkit resources :)

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/64027572/tekkitareas.png

Spawn area!

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/64027572/spawn_jonno.png

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/64027572/spawn_squizz.png



This is if we use the old map which I think would be good - what you reckon?

You may notice there's slight nuclear damage where I was hacked a nuke in to see what it did (four times.. :P .

This post has been edited by King Phil: 25 September 2012 - 09:42 PM


#22 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:59 PM

Dev got the server working :D
For some reason it disconnected me earlier though and Dev had gone to bed the selfish bastard :P


If you want to play, ask Dev he'll need to whitelist you. Speaking of, can you whitelist cookiewookie999 and drrobster? :) Thanks

You'll also need the BDCraft Tekkit texture pack. I've put this on my DropBox page for ease (same one I use) and here is the link.. This is courtesy of http://bdcraft.net/

Texture packs go in C:\Users\xxxxwhoeveryouare!!!xxxxx\AppData\Roaming\.techniclauncher\tekkit\texturepacks in their zip format.

You'll need to Tekkit launcher (basically a new version of the Minecraft launcher that has options for which version you want to play - vanilla, tecnic, tekkit etc) and that's available from here.

Also one thing. We did manage to use the old Babblerworld. I've edited the spawn location so it's in the new-ish unexplored area so the Tekkit minerals etc will spawn. There's one snag - I thought I'd actually moved all the PLAYER locations too (so if you played before with us you'd appear down in the new area) but for some reason Dev appeared back in Babblertown.

If this happens, kill yourself. When you respawn if you appear back at your bed, wreck it and kill yourself again. This should hopefully move you down to the new area where I set up a hovel :D

The old town is there as like an old abandoned civilisation...a medieval city to perhaps visit :P Can't work in the area though as the old chunks are all pre-made and there's NO Tekkit stuff ! So if you want to play you need to die and come to the new spawn or get Dev to port you over.

It's probably worth us all building in a central area first as well if enough people do play. We can combine resources !

I'll let Dev post the address for server :D

This post has been edited by King Phil: 21 October 2012 - 11:43 PM


#23 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 30 September 2012 - 08:14 AM

Yes, still tething with the server but at the moment I've disabled whitelisting so connect away (once its back up)

Babblersts.dyndns.org:20700

I'll post when I get the server back up.

#24 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 30 September 2012 - 09:40 AM

Servers up

#25 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 01 October 2012 - 08:11 AM

My eyes were bleeding after yesterday :P

#26 User is offline   Miles Gloriosus 

  • Junior Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: 26-December 03

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:46 PM

Is server up? Won't seem to let me join...

#27 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 01 October 2012 - 05:57 PM

Definitely should be. You are using the tekkit launcher aren't you? Babblersts.dyndns.org:20700

#28 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:57 AM

View PostMiles Gloriosus, on 01 October 2012 - 05:46 PM, said:

Is server up? Won't seem to let me join...


Any luck?

#29 User is offline   Miles Gloriosus 

  • Junior Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: 26-December 03

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:50 PM

Hmmm - launcher's up fine, and I can log in ok. But I feel I'm missing the reskinned package, as it's laggy as hell, and looks just like the original.

#30 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:35 PM

The package needs to go into the texture pack folder in the tekkit folder.

https://dl.dropbox.c....0.3%20v2.1.zip

#31 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 09 October 2012 - 11:43 PM

Not been on much (been away plus not sure what to build next ! ) but I went on today and it seems to be taking ages to load in the chunks. Ram problem do you think?

You can adjust the memory used by the server by adjust the batch launch file.

java -Xmx3G -Xms2G -jar Tekkit.jar nogui

-Xmx3G -Xms2G // max and min memory. That's what mine looks like..

This post has been edited by King Phil: 11 October 2012 - 04:31 PM


#32 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 13 October 2012 - 12:14 PM

java -Xmx6G -Xms5G -jar Tekkit.jar nogui is the current setting. Think its too much RAM? :unsure:

#33 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 17 October 2012 - 12:34 AM

Er dunno. Could be! :D Maybe it needs a bigger spread between min & max . 1 to 10 is better than 9 to 10 for example.

Some chap wants to take a look at my infinite lava generator btw I said he could come look at the one I made if its' ok with you - if so might be worthwhile backing world up in case it gets wrecked lol

#34 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 17 October 2012 - 05:33 PM

Took a backup so work away. I imagine there's a plugin that will automatically take backups is there?

#35 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:58 PM

Must be yeh the mplay one I used to hire did it every hour or so !

#36 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:25 AM

I see we've has a visit from neg at some point too...

#37 User is offline   Rahr 

  • Buttons!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 8,173
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 18 October 2012 - 04:52 PM

at some point? must have been months ago as i don't even have minecraft on this pc.

#38 User is offline   Dev 

  • The One
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Babblers Head Admin
  • Posts: 7,771
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 18 October 2012 - 05:36 PM

In that case someone has built a shrine to you.

Or maybe it's bait...

#39 User is offline   King Phil 

  • Ye Olde Gamer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Moderators
  • Posts: 8,409
  • Joined: 17-January 03

Posted 18 October 2012 - 07:17 PM

You should check it out Neg...seems dodgy to me.

#40 User is offline   Rahr 

  • Buttons!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Registered
  • Posts: 8,173
  • Joined: 11-January 03

Posted 18 October 2012 - 08:17 PM

well either way its no bother to me.

Share this topic:


  • 5 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users